College Square Swimming Club
College Square Swimming Club
Past Presidents of College Square Swimming Club

Late Satish Ranjan Das (1917-1920)
The Founder President of the Club S.R. Das was the Advocate-General of Bengal and later the Law Member of the Executive Council of the Viceroy during the British Rule in India. He was cousin to Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das and Sudhi Ranjan Das (Former Chief Justice of India). He was the main person behind the conceptualisation & formation of the Doon School
Late Ghanshyam Das Birla (1921-1932)
The Second President of the Club G.D. Birla was considered as the doyen of Indian Industries and the founder of Birla Empire. He was a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi & advisor to him on national economic policies. He was the founder of FICCI. This great business icon of India was established Hindusthan Motors. It was during his tenure the present Club Building was constructed.
Late Braj Mohan Birla (1933-1937)
G.D. Birla passed on the baton to his younger brother B.M. Birla as the President of the Club. He was a respected Industrialist of his time and inspired by his brother extended the business of the Birla family. At the same time, he was also the President of Indian Chamber of Commerce and also became the President of FICCI later on.
Late Mohan Lal Jalan (1938-1945)
Mohan Lal Jalan was a noted industrialist, benevolent social worker and an enthusiastic promoter of Women's Education in India.He founded the Seth Soorajmull Jalan Girls’ College in 1954 in the name of his father. A Government College in name of M L Jalan is now running at Ratangarh, Rajasthan. Before becoming the President of the Club, he was a Committee Member for long time.
Late Anandi Lal Poddar (1946-1955)
Anandi Lal Poddar was the Mayor of Calcutta Municipal Corporation in 1944and is the only Marwari to be in this post. He did great work to improve the conservancy system of the city. He was a well-known business leader during the British rule in India.He was also the Member of State Assembly till he expired in 1961.
Late Kumar Bimal Chandra Sinha (1956-1957)
He was the 25th Zamindar of Kandi & Paikpara, ruler from Murshidabad Raj family. He served as Minister for Abolition of Zamindari and Public Works Department, in the first government of West Bengal after Independence. His son Atish Sinha, was also a former Minister and Leader of opposition in the West Bengal State Assembly.
Late Dharam Chand Sarawgi (1958-1968)
Dharam Chand Sarawgi was a renowned businessman of his time. He held the post of President of College Square Swimming Club for a pretty long time. He was the Past President of Merchants’ Chamber of Commerce & Industry in 1951.After relinquishing the post of President, he remained as the Patron of the Club till his death.
Late Dwijendra Nath Singha (1967-1970)
Dwijendra Nath Singha was a profound SocialWorker and has done great work for the economically backward people of the Kolkata in sixties and seventies mainly related to the health sector.He was also areputed businessman during his time.
Late Jarat Kumar Mullick (1971)
He was the third General Secretary of College Square Swimming Club from 1951 to 1954 when the aquatic activities of the Club were at its highest level with participation in the Olympics and winning medals in the Asian Games. Jarat Kumar Mullick served the Club holding many portfolios from time to time for many years with dedication and discipline.
Late Arun Kumar Roy (1972-1975)
Arun Kumar Roy was a renowned Advocate of the High Court at Calcutta. Inspite of his busy schedule he continued dedicatedly as the President of the Club with dedication.It was during his tenure the Diving Board and the 50 mts Swimming Course were constructed.
Late Bhawani Prosad Mallick (1976-1978)
Bhawani Prosad Mallick was an Advocate of High Court at Calcutta.Though he served the Club as President for a short span of time he was prudent in solving many disputes arising in the working of the Club.
Shri Ranen Mitra (1979-1992)
He was the longest serving President of College Square Swimming Club. An Advocateof Calcutta High Court, Shri Mitra use to visit the Club each and every day and use to take part in day to day activities. The Vidyasagar Udyan (College Square) Welfare Committee, a forum for all the Clubs within College Square, was formed under his Chairmanship in 1979.
Shri Pabitra Kumar Mukherjee (1992-1995)
He was the Editor of Ananda Bazar Patrika and has served ABP Ltd for many years till his retirement. He was a man of principle and very soft-spoken person. During his president-ship he was transferred and posted in New Delhi. He helped the Club on many occasion even before he became the President of the Club.
Shri Justice Shyamal Kumar Sen (1995-2001)
Justice Shyamal Kumar Sen was the Former Governor of West Bengal during his tenure as the President of the Club. He was the Chief Justice of High Court of Calcutta for many years and also held the position of Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court as well. Apart from these he chaired many important committees formed by the Governments from time to time including the Human Rights Commission. Presently Justice Sen is the Patron-in-Chief of the Club.
Shri Manab Kumar Ray Chaudhuri (2001-2010)
A Chartered Accountant by profession, he held the position of Executive Director (Finance) at WEBEL and worked withNicco Uco Alliance Credit Ltd., Kolkata as its Managing Director. Previously, he served Balmer Lawrie & Co Ltd for over twenty-five years in very senior positions like CFO & Director. He did his CS from the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators, London in 1975.
College Square Swimming Club